EditorialFor the love of music


For when you’re feeling social


Craig Clemens

December 09, 2014

Mayer Hawthorne & Jake One (aka Tuxedo) have shared their cover of Paul McCartney’s “Wonderful Christmastime” ahead of their March 3rd release of their highly anticipated debut.

It was a bit of a (non) mystery as to who exactly Tuxedo was for a while as their first 3 singles “mysteriously” showed up on SoundCloud with nothing but the greeting – “Tuxedo is here! Stay Classy.” However, anybody with a working set of ears recognized Hawthorne’s voice immediately. All the while he was sweating out his first release away from Stones Throw, Where Does This Door Go? with Republic Records.

Rumor has it that the original 3 Tuxedo tracks “Do It”, “So Good”, and “Get You Home” were Jake One collaborations that were either not welcomed or not even brought to Republic while Hawthorne was recording there, and while there was a Jake One produced track, “Designer Drug”, that did make it to the record, the other 3 were left on the floor – hence the mysterious alter-ego and ambiguous SoundCloud account.

Regardless of label politics, I’m glad it happened and to me it just sounds like two homeboys making some great freaking music.

Mayer Hawthorne’s star has now risen and he’s become a bit of a force in the industry, and true to form, none other than his old label, Stones Throw, tapped him and Jake One to finish what they started – a full Tuxedo LP. If the first 3 tracks are any sort of a indication, this is one’s going to be classic.

Check out the track list, new Paul McCartney cover, and the video for “Do It” below:

Track List

1. Lost Lover

2. R U Ready

3. Watch The Dance

4. So Good

5. Two Wrongs

6. Tuxedo Groove

7. I Got U

8. The Right Time

9. Roll Along

10. Get U Home

11. Do It

12. Number One