EditorialFor the love of music


For when you’re feeling social


Craig Clemens

August 26, 2014

For Over 20 years London-based XL Recordings has been introducing audiences to new and interesting music.  The label was founded in 1989 to release techno, garage, drum & bass and other forms of rave music.  After taking control of the company in 1993, co-founder turned sole-owner Richard Russell has broadened the musical horizons of XL with the core mission of championing artists he regards as original and inventive.  This vision has allowed XL to curate a diverse and interesting roster of artists that range in genre and commercial success.  From the multi-platinum, Grammy award-winning, songstress ADELE to the underground, eclectic, bedroom producer Jai Paul, XL Recordings continues to develop the careers of music’s most unique creators.

Just yesterday, Monday August 25, XL recordings celebrated their 25th anniversary by releasing their double-disc box set called “Pay Close Attention”.

In a press release, label head Richard Russell offered a glimpse of what to expect. He said, “part 1 of this compilation are the roots of XL; underground music, made for DJs,” Russell said. “These roots are still growing. Part 2 features some of the singular talents who have taken the label further than we ever envisioned. There is no unifying genre; hopefully the thread of originality is evident though.”

Pay Close Attention:

Disc one:

1. SL2 “DJs Take Control”
2. The Prodigy “Out Of Space”
3. Awesome 3 “Don’t Go” (Kicks Like A Mule Mix)
4. Liquid “Sweet Harmony”
5. Jonny L “Piper”
6. Roy Davis Jr. ft. Peven Everett “Gabriel” (Live Garage Version)
7. Dem 2 “Destiny”
8. Nu-Birth “Anytime”
9. Basement Jaxx “Jump N’Shout”
10. Dizzee Rascal “I Luv U”
11. Wiley “Igloo”
12. Various Production “Hater”
13. Giggs “Talkin The Hardest”
14. SBTRKT “Wildfire” [ft. Little Dragon]
15. Jamie xx “All Under One Roof Raving”

Disc two:

1. The Prodigy “Firestarter”
2. Peaches “Fuck The Pain Away”
3. The White Stripes “Seven Nation Army”
4. Devendra Banhart “I Feel Just Like A Child”
5. Ratatat “Seventeen Years”
6. M.I.A. “Paper Planes”
7. Thom Yorke “The Eraser”
8. Gil Scott-Heron “New York Is Killing Me”
9. Radiohead “Weird Fishes / Arpeggi”
10. Tyler, The Creator “Yonkers”
11. The Horrors “Sea Within A Sea”
12. Jai Paul “BTSTU” (demo)
13. Bobby Womack “Please Forgive My Heart”
14. The xx “Angels”
15. Sampha “Too Much”
16. Vampire Weekend “Step”
17. King Krule “Easy Easy”
18. Adele “Rolling In The Deep”

Bonus DVD included in box set:

Prodigy “Firestarter” (Director Walter Stern)
Basement Jaxx “Where’s Your Head At” (Director Traktor)
The White Stripes “Fell In Love With A Girl” (Director Michel Gondry)
Dizzee Rascal “Fix Up, Look Sharp” (Director Ruben Fleischer)
M.I.A “BirdFlu” (Director M.I.A)
Vampire Weekend “A-Punk” (Director Hammer and Tongs)
Radiohead “Lotus Flower” (Director Garth Jennings)
Gil Scott-Heron “I’m New Here” (Director Jane Pollard)
Tyler, The Creator “Yonkers” (Director Tyler, The Creator)
Adele “Someone Like You” (Live From The Brits 2011)