EditorialFor the love of music


For when you’re feeling social


Jonathan Knox

November 10, 2016

Modern psyche-rockers King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard are already set to appear on some year-end best-of lists with their excellent, Nonagon Infinity, but today (Nov. 10) the band shared a new single (in the form of a video), the near-8-minute, “Rattlesnake”. The new tune is set to appear on a new album, Flying Microtonal Banana, which is scheduled to arrive in February. That’s the cover art up above, and down below is the album’s track-listing.

Fans of the band will know that King Gizzard and co. are no strangers to releasing multiple albums over short amounts of time, and 2017 sounds to be no different. Flying Microtonal Banana, will apparently be the first of five releases the band will have in the New Year – each having its own individual sonic theme/experiment. As this album’s title alludes, the band will be experimenting with microtones and microtonal tunings.

Watch (or just listen to) “Rattlesnake” below and if you enjoy it, pre-order the album here or just pick it up when it gets released February 24th via ATO.

Flying Microtonal Banana track-list:
1. Rattlesnake
2. Melting
3. Open Water
4. Sleep Drifter
5. Billabong Valley
6. Anoxia
7. Doom City
8. Nuclear Fusion
9. Flying Microtonal Banana