EditorialFor the love of music


For when you’re feeling social


Jonathan Knox

November 23, 2015

It’s been a busy past few years for Rock n’ Roll ambassador Dave Grohl and his band Foo Fighters. Beginning in 2013 with Grohl’s documentary, Sound City (and its subsequent Sound City soundtrack and Sound City Players tour), the band reconvened to take things further with their eighth album (and Emmy award winning HBO series), Sonic Highways last year in 2014.

Now having spent much of 2015 touring (albeit with a broken leg) the band have said goodbye to that chapter of their career by releasing a brand new 5-track EP titled, Saint Cecilia. Included with the EP is an open letter from Grohl himself, letting fans know the story behind the EP and how it’s now taken a slightly different meaning since the Paris massacre of November 13th.

Read the preface to the letter below and take a look at the Saint Cecilia tracklist and listen to the catchy rocker “Sean” further down.

19 November 2015

Tonight, Let me begin with a preface to a letter I wrote a few weeks ago from my hotel room in Berlin while on our final tour for this album. I felt the need to write this foreword in light of the heartbreaking tragedies of Nov. 13th, as this project has now taken on an entirely different tone. As has everything, it seems…
The Saint Cecilia EP was put into motion back in October of this year as a celebration of life and music. The concept being that, as our world tour drew to a close this week, we wanted to share our love of both with you in return for everything you have given us.
Now, there is a new, hopeful intention that, even in the smallest way, perhaps these songs can bring a little light into this sometimes dark world. To remind us that music is life, and that hope and healing go hand in hand with song. That much can never be taken away.
To all who were affected by the atrocities in Paris, loved ones and friends, our hearts go out to you and your families. We will return and celebrate life and love with you once again someday with our music. As it should be done.

Dave Grohl

Saint Cecilia:
01 “Saint Cecilia”
02 “Sean”
03 “Savior Breath”
04 “Iron Rooster”
05 “The Neverending Sigh”


The Saint Cecilia EP is available to stream now as well as is available via pre-order via RCA Records.