EditorialFor the love of music


For when you’re feeling social


Jonathan Knox

February 11, 2016

Former Kiss guitarist Ace Frehley has revealed that he has a new solo album headed our way. Titled, Origins Vol. 1, the album is loaded front to back with classic Rock covers (yes including a couple of Kiss’) as well as has some very cool guests. One of those guests happens to be Frehley’s old Kiss bandmate, frontman Paul Stanley, who takes vocal duties on Free’s “Fire and Water”.

Frehley spoke to Rolling Stone about having Stanley sing on the track saying, “I thought Paul did a fabulous vocal on it – He jumped at the chance to do this because it’s something that’s outside of Kiss and his character in Kiss, and it gave him a chance to, you know, sing.”

Other guests on the album include Slash, Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready, former Runaway Lita Ford, and Rob Zombie guitarist John 5.

Check out the Origins Vol. 1 album cover above, the tracklisting below, and beneath that, take a listen to Frehley’s cover of Cream’s classic song, “White Room”.

Origins Vol. 1 tracklisting:
1. “White Room” (Cream)
2. “Street Fighting Man” (Rolling Stones)
3. “Spanish Castle Magic,” feat. John 5 (Jimi Hendrix)
4. “Fire and Water,” feat. Paul Stanley (Free)
5. “Emerald,” Slash (Thin Lizzy)
6. “Bring It on Home” (Led Zeppelin)
7. “Wild Thing,” feat. Lita Ford (The Troggs)
8. “Parasite,” feat. John 5 (Kiss)
9. “Magic Carpet Ride” (Steppenwolf)
10. “Cold Gin,” feat. Mike McCready (Kiss)
11. “Till the End of the Day” (Kinks)
12. “Rock and Roll Hell” (Kiss)

Ace Frehley’s “White Room” cover:

Origins Vol. 1 will be available April 15th via Entertainment One.