EditorialFor the love of music


For when you’re feeling social


Jonathan Knox

May 26, 2016

It’s been 3 years since the Strokes released their last album, Comedown Machine – an album they chose not to tour behind. Now after getting fans excited with the prospect of new music ahead of their much-anticipated headlining spot at this year’s Governors Ball, the band have shared a brand new song and announced a new 4-song EP titled, Future Present Past.

Today (May 26) on his new Sirius XMU radio show, Culture Void, Strokes frontman Julian Casablancas premiered “OBLIVIUS”, the first song taken from the new EP. The two other new songs included are “Drag Queen” and “Threat of Joy“. Also on the EP is a remix of “OBLIVIUS”, done by Strokes drummer Fab Moretti.

The band also shared “A Conversation With The Strokes” – a nearly 9 minute video featuring interviews as well as unheard music. Whether or not that music will be included on Future Present Past remains unknown.

In the meantime, watch that video and listen to the new Strokes song, “OBLIVIUS” below, and be sure to pick up (or pre-order) Future Present Past when it gets released June 3rd via Cult Records.


“A Conversation With The Strokes”: