EditorialFor the love of music


For when you’re feeling social


Jonathan Knox

August 18, 2017

Robert Plant has shared brand new single, “The May Queen,” ahead of his freshly announced new solo album, Carry Fire.

The album will be his first since 2014’s Lullaby and… the Ceaseless Roar, and features 11 tracks, all produced by Plant. He’s also brought back his Sensational Space Shifters backing band, as well has the Pretenders’ Chrissie Hynde on board for a duet.

In a press release Plant said of the new album, “It’s about intention, I respect and relish my past works but each time I feel the lure and incentive to create new work. I must mix old with new… Consequently the whole impetus of the band has moved on its axis somewhat, the new sound and different space giving way to exciting and dramatic landscapes of mood, melody and instrumentation.”

The new single which you can hear below, is a warm tumbling acoustic number that’s title actually is reference to a lyric from the singer’s past with Led Zeppelin and their legendary song, “Stairway to Heaven.” Underneath that, check out the track-listing for Carry Fire.

“The May Queen”:

Carry Fire:
1. The May Queen
2. New World…
3. Season’s Song
4. Dance With You Tonight
5. Carving Up the World Again… a Wall and Not a Fence
6. A Way With Words
7. Carry Fire
8. Bones of Saints
9. Keep it Hid
10. Bluebirds Over the Mountain
11. Heaven Sent

Carry Fire is set to be released October 13th via Nonesuch Records.